you're reading...
Genre: picture books, Publisher: Abrams, Publisher: Chronicle, Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Publisher: Macmillan, Publisher: Penguin, Publisher: Perseus, Publisher: Random House

Picturebooks for Adults, Part I

Going through the slush pile a few weeks ago, I came across an artist who layers photographs and clipart pieces to create ethereal digital collage artwork. I wish I could show them to you, but unfortunately the artist doesn’t have a website. While the project wasn’t right for Houghton Mifflin, the illustrations were beautiful, and for me, immediately brought to mind the song used in this video:

(The song is Strange Love by Little Annie, and it’s eerie, and a little weird, and I love it. If you want to hear the whole song, click here, though I have to warn you that the typewritten lyrics on the YouTube video are a little off.)

I could envision full-color, full-bleed pictures adding their surreal quality to the already haunting lyrics. Of course, with the heavy, sexy lyrics and accompanying illustrations, this picture book is more appropriate for adults than children, and that thought made me consider the concept of picture books intended for adults as a whole.

The picture book that immediately came to mind was Griffin and Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence (9780877017882, $19.95, Chronicle) by Nick Bantock. There are four books in this series that is a mysterious love story between two people named Griffin and Sabine, spanning continents and time continuums. Each book contains gorgeous hand-designed postcards and letters between the two lovers as they unravel the mystery of their romantic communication. Perfect for fans of The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, though not quite as dark.

Speaking of Audrey Niffenegger, she has created several picture books for adults: The Adventuress (9780810970526, $27.95, Abrams), The Night Bookmobile (9780810996175, $19.95, Abrams), and The Three Incestuous Sisters (9780810959279, $27.95, Abrams). In keeping with the classic Audrey Niffenegger style, these picture books are dark and fantastical while exploring complex emotions of primarily female characters.

Not all picture books intended for adults are as serious as these. Theodor Seuss Geisel, better known as Dr. Seuss, had quite the naughty side. In addition to writing beloved children’s books, Dr. Seuss was also a political cartoonist during World War II; his cartoons have been collected in Dr. Seuss Goes to War (9781565847040, $19.95, Perseus). He also wrote several picture books that are much more adult-themed in nature, including You’re Only Old Once!: A Book for Obsolete Children (9780394551906, $17.99, Random House), detailing the hilarious medical checkup one of a certain age might go through, and Seven Lady Godivas: The True Facts Concerning History’s Barest Family (out-of-print), a book featuring seven naked ladies romping through tongue-in-cheek explanations of common idioms. Then, of course, there are other Dr. Seuss classics that are favorites to give to adults upon certain graduations and employment transitions, such as Oh, the Places You’ll Go! (9780679805274, $17.99, Random House).

Other children’s books are often given between adults for various holidays. Two of my favorites make perfect Valentine’s Day presents for both friends and loved ones: I Like You by Sandol Stoddard Warburg, illustrated by Jacqueline Chwast (9780395071762, $6.95, Houghton Mifflin) and A Friend is Someone Who Likes You by Joan Walsh Anglund (9780152296780, $9.95, Houghton Mifflin). Both of these offer adorable illustrations accompanying sweet, child-like text celebrating like, love, and friendship. Though those were published as children’s books, their full value is understood more by adults, I think, who can better appreciate the nuances of both text and illustration.

This is true for many other children’s picture books, whose humor, while appealing to children, is of a particularly cheeky, sarcastic, implied, or ironic nature that is greatly enjoyed by adults. Some of my personal favorites catering to the dual audience are the Knuffle Bunny trilogy, the Pigeon books, and the Elephant & Piggie series created by Mo Willems. A classic of this genre is The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales (9780670844876, $17.99, Viking/Penguin), hilarious retellings of classic fairy tales by Jon Scieszka, illustrated by Lane Smith. Lane Smith is quite the connoisseur of this type of work, both by discussing children’s books in an adult way on his blog Curious Pages, and by creating books of this nature, such as the recent release It’s a Book (9781596436060, $12.99, Roaring Brook Press/Macmillan), a book about the introduction of a hard copy book in a digital age.

It’s a Book walks that fine line between being really intended for an adult audience but being published in a children’s market. There are many picture books published in this vein, such as All My Friends Are Dead (thanks to A. Neff for this!) by Avery Monsen and Jory John (9780811874557, $9.95, Chronicle), just published in June, about all the people, animals, and objects who have deceased friends. I can’t think of a single friend who wouldn’t snort with laughter at this snarky book.

What are some of your favorite picture books?

Stay tuned for Part II!

Advertisements

About WildlyLived

Creating | Photographing | Reading | Traveling | Writing

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Picturebooks for Adults, Part I

  1. great subject, good choices… have you seen I CAN'T WAIT? http://bit.ly/cIldRJ

    Posted by anne | September 21, 2010, 6:56 pm
  2. Anne, I've never seen that book before, but it looks great! Like a more poignant gift than OH, THE PLACES YOU'LL GO, but not quite as sentimental as THE GIVING TREE. Thanks for sharing it with me!

    Posted by Rebecca Fabian | September 21, 2010, 7:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Archives

WildlyRead on Facebook

WildlyRead on Facebook

WildlyRead on Instagram

It came! It came! So excited to have received my gorgeous new @rebelgirlsbook book 2 in the mail yesterday! That's 2/2 GOODNIGHT STORIES FOR REBEL GIRLS books that I helped fund via @kickstarter, and I would help fund a dozen more at least. Also thrilled @quailridgebooks already has our shipment on order so I can handsell these through the holidays. #indiesfirst!
. . .
#readstagram #readwithme #readmore #reading #read #instaread #instabook #indiesfirst #shoplocal #bookstore #bookshop #bookshelves #book #books #bookrec #bookworm #bookish #booklove #booklover Today I sat down and read @theallycarter's newest book, NOT IF I SAVE YOU FIRST, coming out March 27, 2018, and I finished it in one sitting. That's how quickly I flipped those pages! I'm a huge fan of her HEIST SOCIETY series, and this one lives up to what I've come to expect from aa Ally Carter YA-thriller-romance. Read on for my review. Thanks to @quailridgebooks for my advanced copy! #booksellerlife . . .
Review: Ally Carter has done it again! I don't know how she manages to so perfectly balance a kick-ass teenage girl with just a pinch of over-the-top girliness, but she nails it every time. Basically this can be considered a contemporary retelling of The Paper Bag Princess, where the prince is the US President's son, the princess is the son's former best friend/daughter of the President's former body guard, and the dragon is a Russian operative. Oh and the setting is winter in Alaska. And because it's Ally Carter, while the girl clearly saves the day and rescues the boy, she also ends up with the boy because teenage love conquers all.
. . .
#readstagram #readwithme #readmore #reading #read #instaread #instabook #indiesfirst #shoplocal #bookstore #bookshop #bookshelves #book #books #bookrec #bookworm #bookish #booklove #booklover #fridayreads #quailreads #bookreview #yalit #teenlit #thriller #romance #notifisaveyoufirst Happy book release day, #amedyckman @ohorazachariah @littlebrownyoungreaders! 🎉📚🎈Am in love with READ THE BOOK, LEMMINGS!
. . .
New review & a staff pick for @quailridgebooks: Guaranteed giggles! Clever illustrations, Captain PB (polar bear, not peanut butter), a literary fox, and three very silly lemmings. Perfect for all storytimes, with opportunities to do character voices. It also imparts the importance of learning how to read without being didactic. My favorite picture book of the year!
. . .
#readstagram #readwithme #readmore #reading #read #instaread #instabook #indiesfirst #shoplocal #bookstore #bookshop #bookshelves #book #books #bookrec #bookworm #bookish #booklove #booklover My latest #cookbook display @quailridgebooks! Strong books by strong women for strong women.
. . .
#readstagram #readwithme #readmore #reading #read #instaread #instabook #indiesfirst #shoplocal #bookstore #bookshop #bookshelves #book #books #bookrec #bookworm #bookish #booklove #booklover #cookbooks #strongwomen #strongnotskinny #strongwoman #quailreads #merchandising #display

WildlyRead on Goodreads

%d bloggers like this: