you're reading...
new release

January New Releases

New Releases2

Happy 2016 everyone! Here are the list of books pubbing this month that I’m eager to get my hands on, and so should you:

drifternicholaspetrieThe Drifter
Nicholas Petrie
9780399174568, hardcover, Pub. Date: January 12, 2016

Publisher Description: An explosive thriller debut introducing Peter Ash, a veteran who finds that the demons of war aren’t easily left behind . . .

Peter Ash came home from the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan with only one souvenir: what he calls his “white static,” the buzzing claustrophobia due to post-traumatic stress that has driven him to spend a year roaming in nature, sleeping under the stars. But when a friend from the Marines commits suicide, Ash returns to civilization to help the man’s widow with some home repairs. Under her dilapidated porch, he finds more than he bargained for: the largest, ugliest, meanest dog he’s ever encountered . . . and a Samsonite suitcase stuffed with cash and explosives. As Ash begins to investigate this unexpected discovery, he finds himself at the center of a plot that is far larger than he could have imagined . . . and it may lead straight back to the world he thought he’d left for good. Suspenseful and thrilling, and featuring a compelling new hero, The Drifter is an exciting debut from a fresh voice in crime fiction.

Shh this book is sleepingShhh! This Book is Sleeping
Cedric Ramadier, illustrated by Vincent Bourgeau
9780553539042, board book, Pub. Date: January 12, 2016

For all of you who love books about books (so meta!), here comes another for the younger set.

Publisher Description: Hold this book gently because it’s very sleepy! A mouse inside the pages invites you to read the book a bedtime story, tuck it in with a cozy blanket, and give it a hug and a kiss. Oh, and don’t forget to ask whether it brushed its teeth and went pee-pee! Then turn off the light. There. Shhh! This book is sleeping! Fans of Press Here and The Monster at the End of This Book will enjoy coaxing the very book they’re holding to go to sleep.

 

Miss MoonMiss Moon: Wise Words from a Dog Governess
Janet Hill
9781101917930, hardcover, Pub. Date: January 12, 2016

Publisher Description: Miss Wilhelmina Moon is a dog governess. At her first placement, on a small island off the coast of France, her new charges – sixty-seven dogs of all shapes, sizes and colors – run wild. But armed with patience and a passion for teaching, as well as her companions, Mitford the monkey and Petunia the French bulldog, Miss Moon soon imparts twenty important lessons to her furry brood. Some are practical, some are playful, one or two are a little unusual, but all are necessary for the raising of happy, healthy and well-mannered dogs (and humans).

 

Radiant RoadThe Radiant Road
Katherine Catmull
9780525953470, hardcover, Pub. Date: January 19, 2016

Publishers Description: A gorgeously written tale of magic, friendship, and self-discovery set in a dream-like landscape filled with fairies.

After years of living in America, Clare Macleod and her father are returning to Ireland, where they’ll inhabit the house Clare was born in—a house built into a green hillside with a tree for a wall. For Clare, the house is not only full of memories of her mother, but also of a mysterious boy with raven-dark hair and dreamlike nights filled with stars and magic. Clare soon discovers that the boy is as real as the fairy-making magic, and that they’re both in great danger from an ancient foe.

Fast-paced adventure and spellbinding prose combine to weave a tale of love and loyalty in this young adult fantasy.

 

abc dreamABC Dream
Kim Krans
9780553539295, hardcover, Pub. Date: January 19, 2016

Publisher Description: This stunning and innovative alphabet picture book will dazzle little ones and engage the adults who share it with them! Each page is dedicated to a letter, and clever alliterations are packed into each ink-and-watercolor spread. This gem comes to us from Kim Krans, the creator of The Wild Unknown—a lifestyle website offering prints, calendars, and more.

 

Love in lowercaseLove in Lowercase
Francesc Miralles, translated by Julie Wark
9780143128212, hardcover, Pub. Date: January 26, 2016

Publisher Description: When Samuel, a lonely linguistics lecturer, wakes up on New Year’s Day, he is convinced that the year ahead will bring nothing more than passive verbs and un-italicized moments—until an unexpected visitor slips into his Barcelona apartment and refuses to leave. The appearance of Mishima, a stray, brindle-furred cat, leads Samuel from the comforts of his favorite books, foreign films, and classical music to places he’s never been (next door) and to people he might never have met (his neighbor Titus, with whom he’s never exchanged a word). Even better, Mishima leads him back to the mysterious Gabriela, whom he thought he’d lost long before.

In the spirit of The Solitude of Prime Numbers and The Guest Cat, Love in Lowercase is a charming and uplifting novel about how one man, thanks to a persistent cat-turned-catalyst, awakens to the importance of the little things in life—and discovers that sometimes love is hiding in the smallest characters.

 

Love That Split the WorldThe Love That Split the World
Emily Henry
9781595148506, hardcover, Pub. Date: January 26, 2016

Publisher Description: Natalie’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start…until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” They’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, there’s a pre-school where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, fading away into rolling hills and grazing buffalo, and Nat knows something isn’t right.

That’s when she gets a visit from the kind but mysterious apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her: “You have three months to save him.” The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and it’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau.

Emily Henry’s stunning debut novel is Friday Night Lights meets The Time Traveler’s Wife, and perfectly captures those bittersweet months after high school, when we dream not only of the future, but of all the roads and paths we’ve left untaken.

 

Why We Write About OurselvesWhy We Write About Ourselves: Twenty Memoirists on Why They Expose Themselves (and Others) in the Name of Literature
Meredith Maran (editor)
9780142181973, hardcover, Pub. Date: January 26, 2016

Publisher Description: For the many amateurs and professionals who write about themselves—bloggers, journal-keepers, aspiring essayists, and memoirists—this book offers inspiration, encouragement, and pithy, practical advice. Twenty of America’s bestselling memoirists share their innermost thoughts and hard-earned tips with veteran author Meredith Maran, revealing what drives them to tell their personal stories, and the nuts and bolts of how they do it. Speaking frankly about issues ranging from turning oneself into an authentic, compelling character to exposing hard truths, these successful authors disclose what keeps them going, what gets in their way, and what they love most—and least—about writing about themselves.

Advertisements

About WildlyLived

Creating | Photographing | Reading | Traveling | Writing

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

WildlyRead on Goodreads

WildlyRead on Instagram

Back on the road again, and where do I head? The library, of course!
. . .
@pennstate #instago #instatravel #travelgram #igtravel #instapassport #travelblogger #travelphotography #travelpic #photooftheday #picoftheday #travel #voyage #explore #pennstate #psu #blackandwhite #booknerd #books #read #reading #booklover #bookstagram #instabook #bookworm #booklove #ilovebooks #readmore #readmorebooks #library On the road again means another stop at my favorite airport bookshop. Love O'Hare for its yoga room; love Raleigh for its bookstore. Anyone read Marilyn Johnson? I'm hoping to read more non-fiction in 2017!
. . .
#blackandwhite #photooftheday #northcarolina #secondhandbooks #booknerd #book #books #read #reading #booklover #bookstagram #instabook #bookworm #booklove #ilovebooks #readmore #readmorebooks #nonfiction #marilynjohnson #bookrec Snowy day? Bookstore.
. . .
#booknerd #book #books #read #reading #booklover #bookstagram #instabook #bookworm #booklove #ilovebooks #readmore #readmorebooks #photooftheday #potd #picoftheday #blackandwhite This #Asheville used bookstore is also a champagne/coffee bar. Can I live here please?
. . .
#northcarolina #instatravel #travelgram #igtravel #instapassport #travelblogger #travelphotography #travelpic #photooftheday #picoftheday #potd #booknerd #book #books #read #reading #booklover #bookstagram #instabook #bookworm #booklove #ilovebooks #readmore #readmorebooks #shopindie #shoplocal #indiesfirst

WildlyRead on Facebook

WildlyRead on Facebook
%d bloggers like this: