Book Review: The Widows of Malabar Hill (Perveen Mistry, #1) by Sujata Massey

So many fascinating details about the 1920s, India's legal system, and most importantly, the myriad different cultures, customs, and ethnic groups that make up India's complex society.

Advertisements

Book Review: Calpurnia Tate, Girl Vet #4 by Jacqueline Kelly

The original Calpurnia Tate was a Newbery Award-winning novel. The new Calpurnia Tate is a series of beginning chapter books that is perfect for the young reader who loves animals.

Book Review: The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang

This wonderful celebration of individuality is a book everyone needs to read, if only to be reminded that personal preference does not make someone a bad person, nor is it the end of the world to live up to your own unique personality.

Book Review: Promise Not to Tell by Jayne Ann Krentz

Romance, rain, and remembrances all feature heavily in this new mystery from a best-selling author.

Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

Deliciously Long and Delightful Titles of Intriguing Children’s Novels

I began collecting deliciously long and delightful titles of children's books that I just knew I had to love based soley on that one distinguishing characteristic. Here are a few that I recommend primarily for readers who are between the ages of 8 and 12 and love to read about girls doing and learning and having adventures.

Book Review: The Escape Artist by Brad Meltzer

Clever and accurate title. Well-written thriller, plot-wise. But it's entirely a book written by a man that is supposed to be about a woman but is actually about a man instead.