Top 10 Books About 2 Wheels

Confession: Not all of these books are about the type of two-wheeled bicycles that one pedals with their feet. Some of these books are about the motorized kind of bike, because I happen to ride those, too. And one very special book is a fake-out entirely - its title is Bicycles, but it's really a collection of love poems.

Advertisements

Book Review: The Widows of Malabar Hill (Perveen Mistry, #1) by Sujata Massey

So many fascinating details about the 1920s, India's legal system, and most importantly, the myriad different cultures, customs, and ethnic groups that make up India's complex society.

Book Review: Calpurnia Tate, Girl Vet #4 by Jacqueline Kelly

The original Calpurnia Tate was a Newbery Award-winning novel. The new Calpurnia Tate is a series of beginning chapter books that is perfect for the young reader who loves animals.

Book Review: The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang

This wonderful celebration of individuality is a book everyone needs to read, if only to be reminded that personal preference does not make someone a bad person, nor is it the end of the world to live up to your own unique personality.

Book Review: Promise Not to Tell by Jayne Ann Krentz

Romance, rain, and remembrances all feature heavily in this new mystery from a best-selling author.

Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

Deliciously Long and Delightful Titles of Intriguing Children’s Novels

I began collecting deliciously long and delightful titles of children's books that I just knew I had to love based soley on that one distinguishing characteristic. Here are a few that I recommend primarily for readers who are between the ages of 8 and 12 and love to read about girls doing and learning and having adventures.

Book Review: The Escape Artist by Brad Meltzer

Clever and accurate title. Well-written thriller, plot-wise. But it's entirely a book written by a man that is supposed to be about a woman but is actually about a man instead.

Book Review: We’re Going to Be Friends by Jack White, illustrated by Elinor Blake

I dare you to read this without singing it out loud. I know I couldn't! There's a YouTube video to prove it.

Book Review: The Library at the Edge of the World by Felicity Hayes-McCoy

This book, while set in a charming Irish village, with a charming plot about a mobile library van, was difficult to love - at first.