Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

Advertisements

Book Review: Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Words in Deep Blue Cath Crowley 9781101937648, $17.99, hardcover, Random House, Pub. Date: June 6, 2017 Publisher description: Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family's bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came. Now Rachel has returned … Continue reading Book Review: Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Top Ten Books I Want for the Holidays

The Broke and the Bookish, a brilliant book blog, hosts a weekly top ten list meme.I like this meme because I like lists. I like this meme because it reminds me of the Top 5 lists from High Fidelity (by Nick Hornby as a book, starring John Cusak as a movie). And I like this meme because it … Continue reading Top Ten Books I Want for the Holidays

Book Review: The Penderwicks at Point Mouette by Jeanne Birdsall

The Penderwicks at Point Mouetteby Jeanne Birdsall9780375858512, $16.99, Knopf (Random House)Age appropriate: Read-aloud 4+, read-alone 8+This third book in the Penderwicks series picks up right where book two, The Penderwicks on Gardam Street, leaves off. Mr. Penderwick, his new wife, and baby Ben are in England for the honeymoon. Rosalind is taking her first vacation … Continue reading Book Review: The Penderwicks at Point Mouette by Jeanne Birdsall

Book Blogger Hop & Follow Friday

It's the end of the work week, the weekend looms,and so do two great memes:It's Book Blogger Hop and Follow Friday time!This week's Book Blogger Hop question:What is the thing you like most about reading book blogs? Is it the reviews, author guest posts, articles, giveaways, or something else entirely?It would have to be a … Continue reading Book Blogger Hop & Follow Friday

Book Review: Stay by Nicola Griffith

Spoiler alert - if you haven't read the first Aud Torvigen book - The Blue Place, my review is here - don't read this review. I ruin the ending of The Blue Place for you.Stay by Nicola GriffithPaperback: 9781400032303, $12.95, Vintage Books (Knopf, Random House)Stay was not quite the same masterpiece as the first book … Continue reading Book Review: Stay by Nicola Griffith

Book Review: Broccoli and Other Tales of Food and Love by Lara Vapnyar

Broccoli and Other Tales of Food and Love by Lara Vapnyar9780307279880, Knopf (Random House), $14This post was originally published here in July 2008. It has been edited from its original version.I picked up this book expecting it to be good, and was thrilled when I wasn't disappointed. Do you ever have those hunches? When you look … Continue reading Book Review: Broccoli and Other Tales of Food and Love by Lara Vapnyar