Book Review: The Milk Lady of Bangalore by Shoba Narayan

As Shoba Narayan becomes increasingly obsessed with cows, milk, and other cow by-products she takes us on a journey of self-discovery and milk-discovery. I will never look at milk the same way again!

Advertisements

Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

New Releases: Picture Books Published August 15, 2017

Goodnight World Debi Gliori Bloomsbury, $16.99 Delicate illustrations accompany gentle rhyming text as everyone - people, plants, and animals - all get ready for bed. Ages 2+         The One Day House Julia Durango, illustrated by Bianca Diaz Charlesbridge, $16.99 Inspired by real-life volunteers, this picture book tells the story of a … Continue reading New Releases: Picture Books Published August 15, 2017

Book Review: How to Find Love in a Bookshop by Veronica Henry

How to Find Love in a BookshopHow to Find Love in a Bookshop Veronica Henry 9780735223493, Penguin Random House, Hardcover, $25, Pub. Date: August 15, 2017 Publisher Description: The enchanting story of a bookshop, its grieving owner, a supportive literary community, and the extraordinary power of books to heal the heart. Nightingale Books, nestled on … Continue reading Book Review: How to Find Love in a Bookshop by Veronica Henry

Book Review: Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely

Gunslinger Girl (James Patterson Presents) Lindsay Ely 9780316555104, $17.99, Hardcover, Young Adult Fiction, Pub. Date: January 2, 2018 As much as I'd like to say I don't judge a book by its cover, sometimes I do pick one up solely because the cover calls to me. Isn't this cover intriguing? I want to be her. … Continue reading Book Review: Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely