Book Review: Not If I Save You First by Ally Carter

Basically, this can be considered a contemporary retelling of The Paper Bag Princess, where the prince is the U.S. president's son, the princess is the son's former best friend and daughter of the president's former body guard, and the dragon is a Russian operative.

Advertisements

Book Review: The Milk Lady of Bangalore by Shoba Narayan

As Shoba Narayan becomes increasingly obsessed with cows, milk, and other cow by-products she takes us on a journey of self-discovery and milk-discovery. I will never look at milk the same way again!

Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

New Releases: Picture Books Published August 15, 2017

Goodnight World Debi Gliori Bloomsbury, $16.99 Delicate illustrations accompany gentle rhyming text as everyone - people, plants, and animals - all get ready for bed. Ages 2+         The One Day House Julia Durango, illustrated by Bianca Diaz Charlesbridge, $16.99 Inspired by real-life volunteers, this picture book tells the story of a … Continue reading New Releases: Picture Books Published August 15, 2017

Book Review: How to Find Love in a Bookshop by Veronica Henry

How to Find Love in a BookshopHow to Find Love in a Bookshop Veronica Henry 9780735223493, Penguin Random House, Hardcover, $25, Pub. Date: August 15, 2017 Publisher Description: The enchanting story of a bookshop, its grieving owner, a supportive literary community, and the extraordinary power of books to heal the heart. Nightingale Books, nestled on … Continue reading Book Review: How to Find Love in a Bookshop by Veronica Henry

Book Review: Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely

Gunslinger Girl (James Patterson Presents) Lindsay Ely 9780316555104, $17.99, Hardcover, Young Adult Fiction, Pub. Date: January 2, 2018 As much as I'd like to say I don't judge a book by its cover, sometimes I do pick one up solely because the cover calls to me. Isn't this cover intriguing? I want to be her. … Continue reading Book Review: Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely