Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

Advertisements

Book Review: Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

Jennifer E. Smith is, somewhat surprisingly to me, one of my favorite young adult/teen (YA) authors. I say surprisingly because her books are all about romance, and teen romance isn't usually my bag; full of drama and without the sex scenes - what's the point? But there are a few distinct differences in a Jennifer … Continue reading Book Review: Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

2015 Penguin Random House Children’s Books

In looking over the Penguin Random House list of children's books published in 2015, I came across some online that I've not encountered in real life. Here are the titles that got me most excited. I'll be hunting these down from my local bookstore or library very soon. This is Sadie Sara O'Leary, illustrated by … Continue reading 2015 Penguin Random House Children’s Books