Book Review: The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang

This wonderful celebration of individuality is a book everyone needs to read, if only to be reminded that personal preference does not make someone a bad person, nor is it the end of the world to live up to your own unique personality.

Advertisements

Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

New Releases: Books Published September 26, 2017 for Children + Teens

Including Humpty Dumpty, Virginia Lee Burton, Sherman Alexie, Mark Twain, and more!

New Releases: Books Published September 5, 2017 for Children + Teens

Another Tuesday, another round of new releases! Here are brief blurbs about some of my new favorite children’s picture books, middle grade novels, and teen reads that released today.

November New Releases

Here are the books I'm particularly excited about that will be coming out in November:  Manners & Mutiny, Book 4, Finishing School series by Gail Carriger I've waxed poetic about Gail Carriger's books many times before (here's a short review of the first book she ever put out, Soulless), and have made no secret of the … Continue reading November New Releases

Book Review: Goliath by Scott Westerfeld, illustrated by Keith Thompson

Goliathby Scott Westerfeldillustrated by Keith Thompson9781416971771, $19.99, Simon & SchusterThe completely-lives-up-to-it-thank-god conclusion to the Leviathan trilogy! For my review of Behemoth, book 2 in the series, click here. Mr. Westerfeld & Mr. Thompson continued to do a magnificent job of giving us both text and pictures to illustrate this alternate world history. It's a little difficult … Continue reading Book Review: Goliath by Scott Westerfeld, illustrated by Keith Thompson

Book Review: Worldshaker by Richard Harland

Worldshaker by Richard Harland Hardcover: 9781416995524, Simon & Schuster, $16.99, Pub. Date: May 2010 Tween read: Ages 10-14 More steam-punk to add to your list!Worldshaker is a constantly traveling machine known as a juggernaut, the size of a small city. Classes exist within a rigid hierarchy complete with regal figureheads Queen Victoria and her consort … Continue reading Book Review: Worldshaker by Richard Harland