Book Review: Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young

This makes a great addition to the canon of fantasy books featuring strong White women like the His Fair Assassins series by R.L. LaFevers, the Leigh Bardugo Wonder Woman: Warbringer, and the like. All of that said, I felt like this story didn't really add anything new to this genre.

Advertisements

Book Review: Princess Pulverizer: Grilled Cheese & Dragons by Nancy Krulik

Meet Princess Serena, aka Princess Pulverizer! She must complete 8 good deeds on a Quest of Kindness to become a Knight. Deed #1: Rescue jewels, a scared knight, and a gassy, cheese-eating dragon from a sleepy ogre. Silly, funny, and empowering. Ages 4+

Book Review: Dread Nation by Justina Ireland

Cinder meets The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue meets Pride & Prejudice and Zombies. A mixed-race young woman trained to kill zombies tries to keep herself and her friends alive while navigating the treacherous landscape of post-Reconstruction America.

Book Review: Calpurnia Tate, Girl Vet #4 by Jacqueline Kelly

The original Calpurnia Tate was a Newbery Award-winning novel. The new Calpurnia Tate is a series of beginning chapter books that is perfect for the young reader who loves animals.

Book Review: The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang

This wonderful celebration of individuality is a book everyone needs to read, if only to be reminded that personal preference does not make someone a bad person, nor is it the end of the world to live up to your own unique personality.

Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

Top Ten Books Featuring Death

Once I'd thought up ten titles in this category - featuring in some way the Grim Reaper, Death itself, or death rituals - without breaking a sweat, it seemed too funny and frankly interesting to not share it.

Deliciously Long and Delightful Titles of Intriguing Children’s Novels

I began collecting deliciously long and delightful titles of children's books that I just knew I had to love based soley on that one distinguishing characteristic. Here are a few that I recommend primarily for readers who are between the ages of 8 and 12 and love to read about girls doing and learning and having adventures.

Book Review: We’re Going to Be Friends by Jack White, illustrated by Elinor Blake

I dare you to read this without singing it out loud. I know I couldn't! There's a YouTube video to prove it.