Book Review: Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young

This makes a great addition to the canon of fantasy books featuring strong White women like the His Fair Assassins series by R.L. LaFevers, the Leigh Bardugo Wonder Woman: Warbringer, and the like. All of that said, I felt like this story didn't really add anything new to this genre.

Advertisements

Book Review: The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang

This wonderful celebration of individuality is a book everyone needs to read, if only to be reminded that personal preference does not make someone a bad person, nor is it the end of the world to live up to your own unique personality.

Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

New Releases: Books Published August 22, 2017 for Children + Teens

Another Tuesday, another round of new releases! Here are brief blurbs about some of my new favorite children's picture books, middle grade novels, and teen reads that released today.

Book Review: Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

Potential subtitles for this novel include: How to Make the Best of Bad Situations, or Movie Glam Girl Meets Sweet Surfer Boy. If that second titles sounds like an internet dating ad, it's not far off. "Mink" (East Coast) meets "Alex" (West Coast) in an online movie forum. Is it a crush? Is it simply classic film chit-chat? Bailey Rydell meets Porter Roth when she moves from DC to CA. Is their frenemy status a way to pass the time at work or something more? Vintage clothes and a sweet Vespa, surfing legends and beach parties make this a delightful summer read.

Book Review: Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely

Gunslinger Girl (James Patterson Presents) Lindsay Ely 9780316555104, $17.99, Hardcover, Young Adult Fiction, Pub. Date: January 2, 2018 As much as I'd like to say I don't judge a book by its cover, sometimes I do pick one up solely because the cover calls to me. Isn't this cover intriguing? I want to be her. … Continue reading Book Review: Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely

Book Review: Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Words in Deep Blue Cath Crowley 9781101937648, $17.99, hardcover, Random House, Pub. Date: June 6, 2017 Publisher description: Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family's bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came. Now Rachel has returned … Continue reading Book Review: Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Book Review: Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

Jennifer E. Smith is, somewhat surprisingly to me, one of my favorite young adult/teen (YA) authors. I say surprisingly because her books are all about romance, and teen romance isn't usually my bag; full of drama and without the sex scenes - what's the point? But there are a few distinct differences in a Jennifer … Continue reading Book Review: Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

New Release: Waistcoats & Weaponry by Gail Carriger

At long last! The day has arrived! Gail Carriger's third book in her Finishing School series, Waistcoats & Weaponry is out! Watch this series music video to see how amazing this Victorian steampunk young adult series about a girl at a spy finishing school in a floating dirigible is: And now, on to the book … Continue reading New Release: Waistcoats & Weaponry by Gail Carriger

Book Review: The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

I'm an unabashed fan of Jennifer E. Smith. I say unabashed because she doesn't write what I typically read, and sometimes when I read things outside of my norm, I feel like I have to justify them. Luckily for me, these books can stand on their own two feet. First and foremost, the author is … Continue reading Book Review: The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith