Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

Advertisements

Book Review: How to Find Love in a Bookshop by Veronica Henry

How to Find Love in a BookshopHow to Find Love in a Bookshop Veronica Henry 9780735223493, Penguin Random House, Hardcover, $25, Pub. Date: August 15, 2017 Publisher Description: The enchanting story of a bookshop, its grieving owner, a supportive literary community, and the extraordinary power of books to heal the heart. Nightingale Books, nestled on … Continue reading Book Review: How to Find Love in a Bookshop by Veronica Henry

Book Review: Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

Jennifer E. Smith is, somewhat surprisingly to me, one of my favorite young adult/teen (YA) authors. I say surprisingly because her books are all about romance, and teen romance isn't usually my bag; full of drama and without the sex scenes - what's the point? But there are a few distinct differences in a Jennifer … Continue reading Book Review: Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

Illustrator Spotlight: Sanna Annukka

British-Finnish illustrator, Sanna Annukka, is best known for her textile designs for Finnish brand Marimekko, but she has also done the illustrations for two Hans Christian Andersen tales that I desperately want on my own shelves. The Snow Queen Hans Christian Anderson Illustrated by Sanna Annukka 9780399578502, hardcover, Penguin Random House, $16 Publisher's Marketing: Hans … Continue reading Illustrator Spotlight: Sanna Annukka

G+D Vintage from Penguin Random House

One of the things I loved the most about Penguin was their ability to come up with various series designed along a certain theme. Their Penguin Ink series, for instance, is one I was obsessed with for a while, and they do all sorts of fantastic typographical series covers, too. I'm glad to know that … Continue reading G+D Vintage from Penguin Random House

2015 Penguin Random House Children’s Books

In looking over the Penguin Random House list of children's books published in 2015, I came across some online that I've not encountered in real life. Here are the titles that got me most excited. I'll be hunting these down from my local bookstore or library very soon. This is Sadie Sara O'Leary, illustrated by … Continue reading 2015 Penguin Random House Children’s Books