Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

Advertisements

Book Review: A Curious Beginning by Deanna Raybourn

An exciting new sleuth thwarts cranky Englishman, abduction attempts, and life-threatening maneuvers while searching for clues to who she is and why someone is causing all this fuss over a simple, independently-minded, refreshingly modern, lady butterfly hunter.

Book Review: The Girl Who Knew Too Much by Amanda Quick

The Girl Who Knew Too Much Amanda Quick 9780399174476, $27, Penguin, Pub. Date: May 9, 2017 Genres: Adult fiction, mystery, romance Short blurb: The glitz and glamor of 1930s Hollywood. A secretary-turned-reporter with a new identity, hot on the trail of a murderer. An ex-magician with secrets of his own to hide. An updated feel … Continue reading Book Review: The Girl Who Knew Too Much by Amanda Quick

New Release: Waistcoats & Weaponry by Gail Carriger

At long last! The day has arrived! Gail Carriger's third book in her Finishing School series, Waistcoats & Weaponry is out! Watch this series music video to see how amazing this Victorian steampunk young adult series about a girl at a spy finishing school in a floating dirigible is: And now, on to the book … Continue reading New Release: Waistcoats & Weaponry by Gail Carriger

Audio Book Review: Robin Hood: The Story Behind the Legend by David B. Coe, Read by Robin Sachs

I drive at least 40 minutes to-and-from work every day. Some days, it's more like a couple of hours. I often listen to audio books, and though I usually prefer to listen to authors read their own work, preferably essays like David Sedaris or fascinating and sardonic non-fiction like Sarah Vowell, for some reason, I … Continue reading Audio Book Review: Robin Hood: The Story Behind the Legend by David B. Coe, Read by Robin Sachs