Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

Advertisements

New Releases: Books Published August 22, 2017 for Children + Teens

Another Tuesday, another round of new releases! Here are brief blurbs about some of my new favorite children's picture books, middle grade novels, and teen reads that released today.

Book Review: Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely

Gunslinger Girl (James Patterson Presents) Lindsay Ely 9780316555104, $17.99, Hardcover, Young Adult Fiction, Pub. Date: January 2, 2018 As much as I'd like to say I don't judge a book by its cover, sometimes I do pick one up solely because the cover calls to me. Isn't this cover intriguing? I want to be her. … Continue reading Book Review: Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely

Book Review: Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Words in Deep Blue Cath Crowley 9781101937648, $17.99, hardcover, Random House, Pub. Date: June 6, 2017 Publisher description: Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family's bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came. Now Rachel has returned … Continue reading Book Review: Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Book Review: Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

Jennifer E. Smith is, somewhat surprisingly to me, one of my favorite young adult/teen (YA) authors. I say surprisingly because her books are all about romance, and teen romance isn't usually my bag; full of drama and without the sex scenes - what's the point? But there are a few distinct differences in a Jennifer … Continue reading Book Review: Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

2015 Goodreads Stats

2012: 42 books 2013: 48 books 2014: 135 books 2015: 154 books It hardly comes as a surprise but 2015 was the year of reading bodice-ripping romance novels, which probably explains why I read 154 books this year! Only a few novels were children books, even fewer YA, mostly mysteries, paranormal romances, motorcycle romances, and … Continue reading 2015 Goodreads Stats

Book Review: The Anatomical Shape of a Heart by Jenn Bennett

The Anatomical Shape of a Heart Jenn Bennett 9781250066459, Hardcover, US Pub Date: November 2015 Originally published as Night Owls in the UK. Brace yourself. I'm about to royally GUSH about how much IN LOVE I am with this book. I'll try to keep the all-caps and exclamation points to a minimum, but it's going … Continue reading Book Review: The Anatomical Shape of a Heart by Jenn Bennett