Book Review: Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young

This makes a great addition to the canon of fantasy books featuring strong White women like the His Fair Assassins series by R.L. LaFevers, the Leigh Bardugo Wonder Woman: Warbringer, and the like. All of that said, I felt like this story didn't really add anything new to this genre.

Advertisements

Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

New Releases: Books Published August 22, 2017 for Children + Teens

Another Tuesday, another round of new releases! Here are brief blurbs about some of my new favorite children's picture books, middle grade novels, and teen reads that released today.

Book Review: Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely

Gunslinger Girl (James Patterson Presents) Lindsay Ely 9780316555104, $17.99, Hardcover, Young Adult Fiction, Pub. Date: January 2, 2018 As much as I'd like to say I don't judge a book by its cover, sometimes I do pick one up solely because the cover calls to me. Isn't this cover intriguing? I want to be her. … Continue reading Book Review: Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely

Book Review: Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Words in Deep Blue Cath Crowley 9781101937648, $17.99, hardcover, Random House, Pub. Date: June 6, 2017 Publisher description: Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family's bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came. Now Rachel has returned … Continue reading Book Review: Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Book Review: Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

Jennifer E. Smith is, somewhat surprisingly to me, one of my favorite young adult/teen (YA) authors. I say surprisingly because her books are all about romance, and teen romance isn't usually my bag; full of drama and without the sex scenes - what's the point? But there are a few distinct differences in a Jennifer … Continue reading Book Review: Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

2015 Goodreads Stats

2012: 42 books 2013: 48 books 2014: 135 books 2015: 154 books It hardly comes as a surprise but 2015 was the year of reading bodice-ripping romance novels, which probably explains why I read 154 books this year! Only a few novels were children books, even fewer YA, mostly mysteries, paranormal romances, motorcycle romances, and … Continue reading 2015 Goodreads Stats

Book Review: The Anatomical Shape of a Heart by Jenn Bennett

The Anatomical Shape of a Heart Jenn Bennett 9781250066459, Hardcover, US Pub Date: November 2015 Originally published as Night Owls in the UK. Brace yourself. I'm about to royally GUSH about how much IN LOVE I am with this book. I'll try to keep the all-caps and exclamation points to a minimum, but it's going … Continue reading Book Review: The Anatomical Shape of a Heart by Jenn Bennett

Waiting on Wednesday: Prudence by Gail Carriger

Waiting on Wednesday (WoW) is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. Prudence,The Custard Protocol series, book 1 by Gail Carriger 9780316212243, Pub. Date: March 17, 2015 When Prudence Alessandra Maccon Akeldama (Rue to her friends) is given an unexpected dirigible, she does what any sensible female would under similar circumstances - names it … Continue reading Waiting on Wednesday: Prudence by Gail Carriger

New Release: Waistcoats & Weaponry by Gail Carriger

At long last! The day has arrived! Gail Carriger's third book in her Finishing School series, Waistcoats & Weaponry is out! Watch this series music video to see how amazing this Victorian steampunk young adult series about a girl at a spy finishing school in a floating dirigible is: And now, on to the book … Continue reading New Release: Waistcoats & Weaponry by Gail Carriger