Top 10 Books About 2 Wheels

Confession: Not all of these books are about the type of two-wheeled bicycles that one pedals with their feet. Some of these books are about the motorized kind of bike, because I happen to ride those, too. And one very special book is a fake-out entirely - its title is Bicycles, but it's really a collection of love poems.

Advertisements

Book Review: Princess Pulverizer: Grilled Cheese & Dragons by Nancy Krulik

Meet Princess Serena, aka Princess Pulverizer! She must complete 8 good deeds on a Quest of Kindness to become a Knight. Deed #1: Rescue jewels, a scared knight, and a gassy, cheese-eating dragon from a sleepy ogre. Silly, funny, and empowering. Ages 4+

Book Review: Calpurnia Tate, Girl Vet #4 by Jacqueline Kelly

The original Calpurnia Tate was a Newbery Award-winning novel. The new Calpurnia Tate is a series of beginning chapter books that is perfect for the young reader who loves animals.

Book Review: The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang

This wonderful celebration of individuality is a book everyone needs to read, if only to be reminded that personal preference does not make someone a bad person, nor is it the end of the world to live up to your own unique personality.

Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

Deliciously Long and Delightful Titles of Intriguing Children’s Novels

I began collecting deliciously long and delightful titles of children's books that I just knew I had to love based soley on that one distinguishing characteristic. Here are a few that I recommend primarily for readers who are between the ages of 8 and 12 and love to read about girls doing and learning and having adventures.

Book Review: The World Shines For You by Jeffrey Burton, illustrated by Don Clark

Gorgeous illustrations pop with foil pieces that highlight the words of this simple book, perfect for even the youngest reader.

Favorite Fall Picture Books

Seasonal Favorites for Fall  Click on each book cover to find out more. Autumn Story   by Jill Barklem (HarperCollins, $9.99) The very definition of charming, the Brambly Hedge series will remind you of Beatrix Potter. In this Fall story, the mice hurry to finish the harvest before the fall rains begin, but it's Primrose, Lord … Continue reading Favorite Fall Picture Books

New Releases: Books Published September 26, 2017 for Children + Teens

Including Humpty Dumpty, Virginia Lee Burton, Sherman Alexie, Mark Twain, and more!