Book Review: Princess Pulverizer: Grilled Cheese & Dragons by Nancy Krulik

Meet Princess Serena, aka Princess Pulverizer! She must complete 8 good deeds on a Quest of Kindness to become a Knight. Deed #1: Rescue jewels, a scared knight, and a gassy, cheese-eating dragon from a sleepy ogre. Silly, funny, and empowering. Ages 4+

Advertisements

Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

Book Review: We’re Going to Be Friends by Jack White, illustrated by Elinor Blake

I dare you to read this without singing it out loud. I know I couldn't! There's a YouTube video to prove it.

Book Review: The World Shines For You by Jeffrey Burton, illustrated by Don Clark

Gorgeous illustrations pop with foil pieces that highlight the words of this simple book, perfect for even the youngest reader.

Favorite Fall Picture Books

Seasonal Favorites for Fall  Click on each book cover to find out more. Autumn Story   by Jill Barklem (HarperCollins, $9.99) The very definition of charming, the Brambly Hedge series will remind you of Beatrix Potter. In this Fall story, the mice hurry to finish the harvest before the fall rains begin, but it's Primrose, Lord … Continue reading Favorite Fall Picture Books

Book Review: Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

Potential subtitles for this novel include: How to Make the Best of Bad Situations, or Movie Glam Girl Meets Sweet Surfer Boy. If that second titles sounds like an internet dating ad, it's not far off. "Mink" (East Coast) meets "Alex" (West Coast) in an online movie forum. Is it a crush? Is it simply classic film chit-chat? Bailey Rydell meets Porter Roth when she moves from DC to CA. Is their frenemy status a way to pass the time at work or something more? Vintage clothes and a sweet Vespa, surfing legends and beach parties make this a delightful summer read.