Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

Advertisements

Illustrator Spotlight: Sanna Annukka

British-Finnish illustrator, Sanna Annukka, is best known for her textile designs for Finnish brand Marimekko, but she has also done the illustrations for two Hans Christian Andersen tales that I desperately want on my own shelves. The Snow Queen Hans Christian Anderson Illustrated by Sanna Annukka 9780399578502, hardcover, Penguin Random House, $16 Publisher's Marketing: Hans … Continue reading Illustrator Spotlight: Sanna Annukka

Book Review: The Story of Diva and Flea by Mo Willemstad + Tony DiTerlizzi

The Story of Diva and Flea Mo Willems + Tony DiTerlizzi Ages: 4-8 (or older or younger) Review: Whimsical and adorable. A mutually beneficial friendship between a dog and a cat encourages them to explore the comforts of home and the excitement of Parisien streets! Diva lives in a grande building in Paris, watching and … Continue reading Book Review: The Story of Diva and Flea by Mo Willemstad + Tony DiTerlizzi