Book Review: The Milk Lady of Bangalore by Shoba Narayan

As Shoba Narayan becomes increasingly obsessed with cows, milk, and other cow by-products she takes us on a journey of self-discovery and milk-discovery. I will never look at milk the same way again!

Advertisements

Book Review: Dread Nation by Justina Ireland

Cinder meets The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue meets Pride & Prejudice and Zombies. A mixed-race young woman trained to kill zombies tries to keep herself and her friends alive while navigating the treacherous landscape of post-Reconstruction America.

Book Review: The Widows of Malabar Hill (Perveen Mistry, #1) by Sujata Massey

So many fascinating details about the 1920s, India's legal system, and most importantly, the myriad different cultures, customs, and ethnic groups that make up India's complex society.

Book Review: Calpurnia Tate, Girl Vet #4 by Jacqueline Kelly

The original Calpurnia Tate was a Newbery Award-winning novel. The new Calpurnia Tate is a series of beginning chapter books that is perfect for the young reader who loves animals.

Book Review: The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang

This wonderful celebration of individuality is a book everyone needs to read, if only to be reminded that personal preference does not make someone a bad person, nor is it the end of the world to live up to your own unique personality.

Book Review: Promise Not to Tell by Jayne Ann Krentz

Romance, rain, and remembrances all feature heavily in this new mystery from a best-selling author.

Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

Top Ten Books Featuring Death

Once I'd thought up ten titles in this category - featuring in some way the Grim Reaper, Death itself, or death rituals - without breaking a sweat, it seemed too funny and frankly interesting to not share it.

Book Review: A Curious Beginning by Deanna Raybourn

An exciting new sleuth thwarts cranky Englishman, abduction attempts, and life-threatening maneuvers while searching for clues to who she is and why someone is causing all this fuss over a simple, independently-minded, refreshingly modern, lady butterfly hunter.

Book Review: Six-Gun Snow White by Catherynne M. Valente

Imagine Snow White, in the Wild West, a mix of White settlers and Native traditions. Now up the ante on the dark fantasy elements in the hands of master storyteller, Valente. The voice of each character - some familiar, some new - shine through the haunting and lyrica narration, the language reminiscent of an oral storytelling tradition.