Book Review: Promise Not to Tell by Jayne Ann Krentz

Romance, rain, and remembrances all feature heavily in this new mystery from a best-selling author.

Advertisements

Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

Top Ten Books Featuring Death

Once I'd thought up ten titles in this category - featuring in some way the Grim Reaper, Death itself, or death rituals - without breaking a sweat, it seemed too funny and frankly interesting to not share it.

Book Review: A Curious Beginning by Deanna Raybourn

An exciting new sleuth thwarts cranky Englishman, abduction attempts, and life-threatening maneuvers while searching for clues to who she is and why someone is causing all this fuss over a simple, independently-minded, refreshingly modern, lady butterfly hunter.

Book Review: Six-Gun Snow White by Catherynne M. Valente

Imagine Snow White, in the Wild West, a mix of White settlers and Native traditions. Now up the ante on the dark fantasy elements in the hands of master storyteller, Valente. The voice of each character - some familiar, some new - shine through the haunting and lyrica narration, the language reminiscent of an oral storytelling tradition.

Deliciously Long and Delightful Titles of Intriguing Children’s Novels

I began collecting deliciously long and delightful titles of children's books that I just knew I had to love based soley on that one distinguishing characteristic. Here are a few that I recommend primarily for readers who are between the ages of 8 and 12 and love to read about girls doing and learning and having adventures.

Book Review: The Escape Artist by Brad Meltzer

Clever and accurate title. Well-written thriller, plot-wise. But it's entirely a book written by a man that is supposed to be about a woman but is actually about a man instead.

Book Review: We’re Going to Be Friends by Jack White, illustrated by Elinor Blake

I dare you to read this without singing it out loud. I know I couldn't! There's a YouTube video to prove it.

Book Review: The Library at the Edge of the World by Felicity Hayes-McCoy

This book, while set in a charming Irish village, with a charming plot about a mobile library van, was difficult to love - at first.

Book Review: The Ultimatum (The Guardian #1) by Karen Robards

Bianca St. Ives was fierce, sexy, smart, and alluring.