Book Review: Calpurnia Tate, Girl Vet #4 by Jacqueline Kelly

The original Calpurnia Tate was a Newbery Award-winning novel. The new Calpurnia Tate is a series of beginning chapter books that is perfect for the young reader who loves animals.

Advertisements

Book Review: The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang

This wonderful celebration of individuality is a book everyone needs to read, if only to be reminded that personal preference does not make someone a bad person, nor is it the end of the world to live up to your own unique personality.

Book Review: Promise Not to Tell by Jayne Ann Krentz

Romance, rain, and remembrances all feature heavily in this new mystery from a best-selling author.

Book Review: What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

For fans of Number the Stars, Letters from Rifka, and other WWII tween/YA reads, this provides a new perspective, telling two Holocaust stories we don't often hear - a secular Jew's confusion over both her treatment and, afterward, her religion, and the significance of music.

Top Ten Books Featuring Death

Once I'd thought up ten titles in this category - featuring in some way the Grim Reaper, Death itself, or death rituals - without breaking a sweat, it seemed too funny and frankly interesting to not share it.

Book Review: A Curious Beginning by Deanna Raybourn

An exciting new sleuth thwarts cranky Englishman, abduction attempts, and life-threatening maneuvers while searching for clues to who she is and why someone is causing all this fuss over a simple, independently-minded, refreshingly modern, lady butterfly hunter.

Book Review: The Escape Artist by Brad Meltzer

Clever and accurate title. Well-written thriller, plot-wise. But it's entirely a book written by a man that is supposed to be about a woman but is actually about a man instead.

Book Review: The Library at the Edge of the World by Felicity Hayes-McCoy

This book, while set in a charming Irish village, with a charming plot about a mobile library van, was difficult to love - at first.

Book Review: The Ultimatum (The Guardian #1) by Karen Robards

Bianca St. Ives was fierce, sexy, smart, and alluring.